The Social Experiment

Posted: August 26, 2013 in Uncategorized

I am not a writer, at the very least I never dreamt of trying to be one. I have always wanted to be one too many things, I’ve had the creative inclinations of all kinds, you can name it. I’ve been a rock star in the depths of my imagination and I have actually performed on stage ‘sweet child of mine’ on various nights at the local watering hole with a band who are professionals. Think it was not bad or else they wouldn’t invite me a second time or the multiple times after that whenever they wanted to do the cult classic from GNR. I love to dance and will take the stage anytime whenever there is a thump in the beat. I would dance till the very end and by that time I will be struggling with the life out of me to catch up on my breath which is trying to escape at supersonic speeds. If only we could fuel our jet fighters with the spirit from which we manage ourselves to get by everyday. I guess saving the economy from fueling into wars takes more than just goodwill and high spirits.

Bravo Kshitij, you have digressed from the topic on your technically the very first ever blog.

I really didn’t know any better since I recently met a great gal, very intelligent oh yes, just the type I like. Type you ask? I don’t have a type, I really don’t have a type, just saying it again so it does sound dramatic enough. If you can make me dream while being wide awake, you have got the type. Somehow intelligent types makes it much easier for me to dream, so there was this one. Really inspiring and that’s where I learned that writing can de-stress you. Such a small little word for something that feels so huge on our weak little shoulders. Stress can weaken the shoulders of even Mike Tyson, I don’t know what else there could be that would drive a man to such an extent that he bites someone’s ear off. Dude, you got some serious issues and that makes me fret less over my silly little issues and of course flying off the handle on trivial matters. So I tried to give it a shot, but how do I get inspired enough to write something, the big question mark and it occurred to me I could run a social experiment (thanks, finally phhhh…) very simple and which didn’t involve too much of writing skills. Can you imagine at this day and age when you can’t get likes and comments on a magnificent and intellectually stimulating theatrical play. Little did I realize that our nation is very famous for its vibrant film industry “Bollywood”. Hmmm I wish we didn’t have to at least rip off the name just to garner attention. We have a big identity with the kind of creativity that this nation is rich of. I don’t control these things and they never bothered to check with me when they decided we’re a shameless bunch of idiots and nobody would notice the very obvious name similarity. Anywho, the social experiment worked, it really did and so beautifully it did. I had a one complete and the very lonely only one like. Aha, just as I expected, my detective turrets started to kick in, but I waited for a day and gave people one day benefit of doubt. In cricket a batsman is sometimes given the same benefit of doubt and can result in deciding the very fate of the match. So why can’t I give them a break, people are looking for a break anyway on Facebook? Or so they had me believe. If a new born child has already had an account on facebook since when he was just barely visible on the ultrasound, dude that is not taking a break on cyber space. You live there and now your rent is up and it’s time to cough up money. Alas, your existing cyber currency in down much like the Indian Rupee. Don’t get me wrong, I do enjoy the odd joke on replacing diamonds with the highly overpriced onions, haha and the persistent beating that poor Rajnikant takes over his super (in)human capabilities. But please don’t tell me that your life is relevant only when you have so bravely put up a status about the sumptuous feast you just had and the “likes” on the social network validates the amount of fun you’re having. Good for you man, whatever keeps your belly growing and makes you happy :). I’ve even put a smiley face next to it so you can’t say that I was angry at you. I would be just as happy as you are if eating a wholesome meal could rest the debate that has been going on inside my empty head. Yes, it is empty or else you wouldn’t hear echos of non stop thoughts over anything and everything under the sun. So I think. Let me introduce myself; I’m a Thinker. I am certainly not a natural writer but I do have thoughts. Right, who doesn’t? everyone has them and there is no joy known to mankind than to share a similar thought or an opinion perhaps. So I finally decide to write and how did I ever find the flow to write I still am pretty clueless. I wrote and I didn’t realize where this was going but I did have an idea of the anger I had over the stupidity on Facebook, that’s my opinion, you are entitled to have yours, kudos!! You’re halfway through and the end is nearer than before. Also I did want to share my experience not by explanations of what I witnessed but rather by urging people to give it a thought. I had seen only yesterday ‘The Vagina Monologues’ (not Vaginal) and didn’t these women just came from some place that I never knew existed. They dazzled me with their performances and the sheer bravery and brilliance of theatre art made you go up and down inside your mind and sometimes both positions at the same instant. Those were some power packed vaginas, yep I don’t even know why this is such a difficult word to touch your lips. Go down on a woman and kiss her lips with yours it’s not that hard. Maybe it’ll help you be a man and say that was cuntastic. I don’t mean it in a derogatory way, cunts are fantastic. We all lived in very close proximity to one for nine months before we saw the light at the end of the tunnel or is it the beginning if I may correct myself. I do urge all to please read my rant, I have placed a link at the bottom so you could please pay a visit and give it a like. I didn’t think I would need so many affirmations and certainly didn’t realize it will run this far on the first day. If you think it’s worth talking over please do comment and your honesty would be greatly appreciated :). This is an open discussion and I would like it if you had something/ anything to say about it and keep me connected. Thanks for all the few likes and comments of Facebook, I’m happy with the few as well and mind you these are people you can have an intelligent conversation with.

The journey to self realization is a long one I assume. But why do I suddenly feel so light and liberated like all weight of the suffocating anger is rushing away from me.The Social experiment worked, I feel stoked and don’t know if I’m probably up, possibly down but I feel relaxed.

I wrote, that was my social experiment.

P.s. I’ll try to be less fragmented and incoherent. Nah not really, maybe a little bit, if you say the magic word.

the link – https://www.facebook.com/kshitij.arora.5876/posts/10151859852978767

Comments
  1. pratibha says:

    r u stil grieving dat u got only 1 like 2 ur chekin or wanna discuss da play? 😛 as a ex-fb pro (i am not dat active now on fb) n other social networks a few tips as u r a new entrant (read active) n gotta still learn da tricks. most ppl use office network 4 der social activities which becomes v slow once dey leave office. u can also blame dis on bad data connectivity on phs (wateva da operators promise in der ads). also u checked in on a sat – a holiday for most ppl n dey r busy wit personal n family work. dun 4get der r also busy uploading stuff n wd like ‘likes n comments.’ how many did u like or comment on? i am not puttin up all tips here as it’ll b a blog by itself 😉 also mayb i can charge 4 it 😀

    next is ur play discussion. mayb u dunno dis play is v old n has seen many change in da performers too. also, most ppl r part of diff groups specifically meant 4 wateva interests dem….multiple discussions on da same topic on various forums is repetitive n boring.

    hving said all da above, i agree its a gr8 concept n i watched it wen dey launced in india many yrs ago wit sum of da original artistes who wer awesome. mayb dey hv added n deleted sum acts/scenes.

    boy i think its time i published my blog 2…2 many likewise thinkers n digressers ard eh 🙂

    • Kshitij says:

      Oh no, no, no. Not at all, did it sound like grieving? If anything I’m more elated than ever. Please forgive for being a little abstract on this blog, it is all there in the ending, the experiment was a 3 tier process to find out if I had any writing skills whatsoever. First was to create an instance of check-in (ya agreed, Lame), 2nd was to write a ‘rant’ to get everyone’s attention and see if people did respond. I can’t tell you how happy I am to receive all comments whether positive/ negative. I don’t know if I started a blog (3rd step) first anyone would pay any attention. I won’t make that mistake again as I got more than what I imagined. I did not intend to hurt anyone and I feel ‘The Vagina Monologues’ must have gotten enough attention that it truly deserves. You really know it best how active I am on social media and if someone else had put a check-in of a similar kind I would have been probably the last person to find about it. I was really angry though not on people who are not so active but on those who would just give validation on anything and everything because they really have nothing better to do. I do realise now that even those people matter cos even if they don’t have much to contribute on a touchy subject they would give their invaluable likes to promote your post long enough for others to take notice. I got enough likes (13) on my posts and 43 comments 🙂 Please do write, i’d love to read your thoughts and just in case I miss it 😛 please send me a link on facebook pm. I will surely check it out. Thanks for being the first to comment on it, so…. what do u think?

      • pratibha says:

        any experiment has 2 hv da rite sample n timing…plus if u hv aldy got 43 comments on fb, hvin a similar 1st blog wil neva garner enuff responses…dun b repititive boss. anyway da best outsome as i said b4 is u got in touch wit a few at least hu u werent 4 long. so enzai 🙂

  2. Neeta Iyer says:

    Welcome Kshitij .. Impressive debut.. Congratulations 🙂

    Facebook does give an expression to your innermost thoughts and feelings.. Mostly, people’s thoughts revolve around food, women/men, jobs, bosses and the likes. No wonder, the FB posts reflect the same.
    There is a saying “Apna kaam banta, bhaad mein jaaye junta”. It is a little difficult (practically impossible) to have a genuine concern for the lamentable incidences happening around us when we dont even know (care to know) who our next door neighbour is. This is a great play and my close friend has performed in it as well. But, I truly believe that abuse of women and children is not the only issue we are battling with, currently as a nation. We are deadlocked because we don’t care ! Sensitivity and human empathy is the need of the hour. Take care of the person right in front of you and educate your children to do the same ! To begin with, taking the initiative to greet our neighbours every morning would be a good thing to do…A good priest is one who practices what he preaches, so I am going to apply this myself.

    Happy blogging 🙂

    • Kshitij says:

      Thanks so much Neeta, means a great deal getting these much too kind words from you the only real live author I personally know You make some very interesting points of discussion. There are too many issues around the globe and especially in this part of the world which requires attention. Talk about priorities huh, I remember reading an article on the news couple of years back that the Italian lass ruling our country wants to connect the rural India to the world through Internet. Wow!!! now that’s some progressive thinking right over there, how so very thoughtful is that. Nobody living in our villages ever dreamt that they could get access to the information super highway and you know why? because they do not have a place to take a proper dump. Most rural households do not contain toilet facilities with over 700 million people defecating in open fields, now that’s food for thought, no not really, ugh… Well that made the front page news for India Shining.

      And people reading this post please go buy the book ‘Find_Love.com’ by this new budding author Neeta Iyer. It’ll give you the much deserved break from reading my dark ramblings and soon you will be rolling on the floor laughing, ROFL right?

  3. Shanti says:

    For what has apparently been your “first ever blog” Kshitij, you are well & truly on your path to “Arriving”…. and am sure you’ll get there… And commendable is the topic you chose to entering the blogging arena with (though of course we are all now guinea pigs in your social experiment 🙂 ……

    Yes, encouraging women (truly or as a pretense, because it seems to be the best topic nowadays… women) & sharing up-standing (no pun intended 🙂 thoughts about them is certainly a wonderful thing & goes a long way in boosting the morale of many, if i may say so.

    Having experienced the monologue, for want of better words is definitely like being through an emotional explosion. Watching those beautiful women portray a lot of things… courage, in depth understanding of feelings (up there & down south) if i may say so, oodles of talent, no fear of expression and i can go on and on… i was that impressed with the experience. And the fact that some of the cast therein has been doing the act consistently for the last 11 years is definitely an achievement of sorts for the team & also a silver lining to the ‘pull women down’ cloud that seems to be surrounding the country lately. Even more impressive is the fact that even today when the show takes place, it pays to a jam packed auditorium or theater, many of the patrons being repeaters, who come to go through the experience again & again.

    So kudos to you for the explosive beginning & looking forward to many more intellectual dhamakas from you.

    • Kshitij says:

      Thank you so much Shanti for sparing such encouraging thoughts on my post. I’m glad that you can picture perfectly what I’m trying to convey. Your words on the experience that you had are very well expressed and it sounds like we were watching it together, lol.
      I do intend to write more and open up more conversations, like the famous one liner from a close friend ‘Let the sh*t hit the fan first’.
      Muchas gracias 🙂

  4. Your way of explaining everything in this article is actually good, every one can easily know it, Thanks a lot.

  5. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something.
    I think that you could do with some pics to drive the message home a little bit, but instead of that, this is excellent blog.
    A fantastic read. I’ll definitely be back.

  6. That is a very good tip especially to those resh
    tto thee blogosphere. Short but very precise
    information… Thank you for sharing this one.
    A must read post!

  7. Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon on a
    daily basis. It will always be exciting to read articles from other
    authors and practice a little something from other web sites.

  8. I think this is one of the such a lot significant information for me.

    And i’m glad studying your article. However wanna remark on some common things, The
    website style is wonderful, the articles is in reality nice :
    D. Excellent task, cheers

Leave a comment